Microwaved Peanut Patties

by

Anyone from Lubbock, Texas knows that Goodart Peanut Patties are the best in the world.  Since I moved away I occasionally find some store smart enough to carry this tasty treat.  Since this is my ‘candy making’ time of year I wanted to add it to my list.

Last year I was in search of the peanut pattie recipe that my Mom always made in her cast iron skillet.  I never found it, but this one looked so simple I had to try it:

2 cups sugar

1/2 cup light corn syrup

1/2 cup water

1 3/4 cups raw peanuts

2 tbsp butter

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

2-3 drops red food coloring

 

Combine sugar, syrup and water in 2 quart microwave safe dish

Microwave on full power for 3 1/2 minutes.  Stir in peanuts and continue to microwave on full power for 9 minutes, stirring after 5 minutes.  Stir in butter, vanilla and food coloring.  Beat hard with wooden spoon 2 minutes until creamy.  Drop spoonsful into greased pan. 

Don’t vary too much from this recipe.  It looks like it needs more cooking or more stirring, but the recipe is right on the money.  If the last few patties are too hard or crumbly.  break them up, add a few drops of water and put back in the microwave until melted.  usually a minute will do it.

 

Leave a Reply

