Deep Fried Zucchini

by

With all the zucchini coming off of our garden I have been looking for different recipes to try.  We love fried zucchini so I thought I would look on-line and see if I could find a good recipe.  Mine is just the old-fashioned flour with salt and pepper and I wanted something a little different.  This is the first recipe I came across and I knew it was going to be the one.  It is fantastic.  I got it from the Food Network; on the Neely’s page to be exact.

I have put the recipe down the exact way they say to make it.  Below I have added some changes that I made to the ingredients. 

If you like deep-fried zucchini, trust me, you will love this one.

IMG_2375

Ingredients:

Peanut oil, for frying
3 large zucchini, cut into 1/2-inch thick rounds
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups panko bread crumbs
1/4 cup finely grated Parmesan
2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh parsley leaves
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
3 eggs, lightly beaten
1/4 cup water
Ranch dip, for dipping

Preheat oil in a deep-fryer to 350 degrees F.
Measure flour into a pie plate. In another pie plate combine panko, Parmesan, parsley, red pepper flakes and salt and pepper, to taste. In a third plate add eggs and water. Dredge the zucchini in the flour, followed by the egg and finally in the panko.
Working in batches, place the breaded zucchini slices in the hot oil and fry until golden brown, 3 to 4 minutes. Drain on a paper towel lined sheet tray and immediately season with salt and pepper.
Notes:
  • I used canola oil instead of peanut oil, but you could use regular vegetable oil
  • The red pepper flakes don’t give it enough heat.  The first time I put them in my grinder.  I thought that would make the heat come out.  It didn’t work.  So the next time rather than using the pepper flakes I used 2 tablespoons of cayenne pepper in my flour, egg and panko mixtures. 
  • I also put more salt in it.  That would depend on how much salt you like.  We like our foods a little salty
  • It states to get the oil to 350 degrees, but I use a large cast iron skillet, so the oil was too hot at that temperature.  So if you are using cast iron, drop the heat down to 325.  That will work perfect. 
  • I found that the panko will burn very quickly so make sure your heat isn’t too high and you have to watch it closely.  It will go from being brown to burnt very quickly.
One Response to “Deep Fried Zucchini”

  1. bofh69 Says:

    This stuff is seriously so good that you can make a meal out of it.

Leave a Reply

