Applebee’s Garlic Mashed Potatoes

by

Mark took me out to dinner the other night to Applebee’s for our 10th year anniversary.  He had a steak and some garlic mashed potatoes, so I tried a bite of them and they tasted so great I had to find a recipe to make them.  This is obviously a copy cat recipe, but they turned out pretty good and tasted really close to what he had, plus they are simple to make.

I have added a few notes down at the bottom.

IMG_0105

Ingredients
  • 2 lbs red potatoes
  • ½ cup milk
  • ¼ cup heavy cream
  • 3 tablespoons butter
  • Garlic powder
  • salt and black pepper
  • ¼ cup garlic (whole cloves)
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven at 400. Place garlic cloves in a aluminum foil packet and place in the oven and roast for 45 minutes.
  2. During this time boil potatoes. Take garlic cloves ( peel them and mash them into the potatoes)
  3. Combine all the rest of the ingredients together. All seasoning is to taste.
  • They say to roast the garlic clove for 45 minutes, I followed the directions and they were burnt.  Also, when they say “whole cloves” they mean it.  On my second batch I put the whole clove in the foil without separating them and cooked them for 30 minutes they were perfect.  But I’m sure different ovens vary in temperatures.
  • We also added cheddar cheese to ours, plus some ranch dressing on top.
  • When I mashed the potatoes I used a hand masher rather than a mixer.  It gave it a slightly chunky texture, which I thought was pretty good.
  • I couldn’t find heavy cream so I used half and half, which turned out fine.
One Response to “Applebee’s Garlic Mashed Potatoes”

  1. johnsboise Says:

    I made these last week. They were fantastic!

Leave a Reply

