Veggie Chowder

by

When I was younger my Mom only made potato soup when someone was sick.  I never liked it and didn’t make it.  I decided at some point I would make something that I liked, and this is what I came up with.

1 large baking potato (cubed)

4 or 5 mini carrots (sliced)

boil together for 15 (or until tender) in 2 qt  heavy saucepan

saute the following in butter:

1/2 chopped onion

1/2 cup sliced mushrooms

1/4 diced orange or red bell peppers

make a white sauce of 6T butter

1/4 cup flour

1 cup half and half

when very thick add to boiled potatoes

add sauted vegetables

about 1 cup cubed velvetta cheese product

1 t salt

course ground pepper

*note:  when potatoes are done there should be about an inch of liquid over cooked vegetables.  Add the white sauce and cook over medium heat with cheese until desired thickness.  If it’s too thick add more half and half.  This is very rich and so good!

Leave a Reply

