Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

by

I am a huge chicken fettuccini alfredo fan, but Mark doesn’t care for it much. So, I buy it a lot in the frozen section and take it to work for my lunches.  Marie Callenders has it for $7.99 and I can get two meals out of it.  I decided that I wanted to try making it from scratch.  I wrote this recipe down one day at work while I was on lunch and it is the best chicken fettuccini alfredo I have ever eaten.  You can’t believe how easy and inexpensive this recipe is. For about $6, I made enough for 3 lunch meals.

IMG_3568

Ingredients:
1 stick of butter
1 pint of whipping cream
5 cloves of minced or crushed garlic
1 cup of grated parmesan cheese
2 cooked chicken breasts
¼ cup of olive oil
noodles of your choice

 

Directions:
Heat the olive oil in a pan until it shimmers.  Brown your chicken on each side; roughly 5 minutes each.  Remove from pan and let rest for 10 minutes.  Meanwhile, bring a pot of water to a boil and cook your pasta according to the package direction. Slice the chicken into ¼ pieces and set aside. At the same time melt the butter in a pan (watch the butter so that it does not burn) and add the garlic, cook on medium heat until garlic is almost translucent.  Add the whipping cream and bring to a boil.  Slowly add the cheese a little at a time until melted.  Drain the pasta and add to the cheese mixture, then add the chicken.  Gently stir until mixed thoroughly and serve.  Garnish with extra cheese and some chopped basil if desired.

Leave a Reply

