The Ultimate Chicken Bacon Grilled Cheese

by

I found this recipe on one of the recipe blogs that I surf, named Good Cook.  We had it for dinner the other night and it was delicious!  There are some notes at the bottom that I would do different next time.

And you will notice we broke out the fine “redneck china”

14368886_1229619540428865_269656142837840730_n

Ingredients:
2 pieces sourdough bread
2 Tbsp butter, softened
3 Tbsp grated parmesan
1/4 cup whipped cream cheese
1/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar
1/2 grilled chicken breast, sliced
3-4 pieces cooked bacon
2 scallions, diced

Instructions:
1. Heat a cast iron grill pan over medium heat.
2. Spread butter on the top of both pieces of bread, dip butter-side-down in parmesan.
3. Flip parmesan side down. Mix together cream cheese and cheddar, spread mixture on both pieces of bread. Top with chicken, bacon and grilled cheese. Place cream-cheese covered sides of bread together. Grill on hot grill pan, until cheese is melted.

Notes:

It states to use a “cast iron grill pan” and I don’t have one so I used just a regular cast iron pan.  If you coat the bread in parmesan cheese, don’t use cast iron.  The cheese gets too hot and it sticks to the pan.  I took mine out and put it in my normal grilled cheese sandwich pan.

Also, I will not coat the bread in parmesan cheese.  I did not care for the flavor that way.  I mean it was good but just not a preference for me.

Leave a Reply

