Slow-Cooker Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

by

Yet another recipe Mark found when he was hungry.  We get a lot of our recipes from Betty Crocker’s website. They have some pretty good ones on there. This was a great soup and it was easy and inexpensive.

We did a few things different and I have some suggestions in the notes below.

fullsizerender-20

 

Ingredients:
1 lb boneless skinless chicken thighs (5 thighs), cut into 1-inch pieces
1/2 cup uncooked wild rice
1/4 cup fresh or frozen chopped onions
2 cans (10 3/4 oz each) condensed cream of potato soup
1 can (14 oz) roasted garlic-seasoned chicken broth
2 cups frozen sliced carrots
1 cup half-and-half

Directions:
Place chicken in 3 1/2- to 4-quart slow cooker. In large bowl, mix wild rice, onions, soup, broth and carrots; pour over chicken.
Cover; cook on Low heat setting 7 to 8 hours.
Stir in half-and-half. Increase heat setting to High. Cover; cook 15 to 30 minutes longer or until hot.

Notes:

We made this on a weekday and I did not use the crock pot.  I put it in my small pressure cooker for 15 minutes and then when the steam was released and I could take the lid off, I let it simmer for about 20 minutes.

I don’t prefer chicken thighs so I used boneless, skinless chicken breast.

I also fried up some bacon and crumbled it on top of our soup when it was served.  I added peas  and I think another good addition would be some mushrooms and corn.

I could not find any roasted garlic-seasoned chicken broth, so I made my own by roasting some garlic in the oven and mixing it in with my regular chicken broth.  I turned out fantastic.

And an added bonus, it reheats very nicely.  I had some for lunch today and it tasted just as good as the night before.

 

 

Leave a Reply

