Chicken Tortilla Soup

by

This recipe comes from JoyTT in Texas.  This is her Mom’s recipe and I made it for my family yesterday.  This is a very good recipe and I think the entire family enjoyed it. It’s super easy to fix.  I have never made Tortilla Soup before so I have a few things to learn on it.  Please see my notes below for some tips.

This is my picture, so if Joy wants me to replace it when she makes her own, we will.

fullsizer

8 cups chicken broth
½ cup rice
Chipotle peppers to desired taste, chopped
1 medium onion, diced
2 Roma tomatoes, diced
1 clove garlic, minced
1 cup corn
1-2 tbsp cilantro, rough chop
2 cups shredded chicken

Garnish
Tortilla strips
Avocado chunks

Notes:
I thought I was doing the family a favor and let it cool down a little bit before serving.  Do NOT do this; it needs to be served really hot.  I also diced up Jalapenos.  We garnished it with the tomatoes, jalapeno, avocado and cilantro.  I made my tortilla strips from scratch.  Another suggestion from the family was to garnish it with some grated up Monterey Jack cheese

 

Leave a Reply

